Rayman 1

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

Jaguar
8
5%
PC
40
25%
PlayStation
90
56%
Saturn
13
8%
Game Boy Colour
0
No votes
Game Boy Advance
5
3%
DSi
6
4%
 
Total votes: 162

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 78338
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 562114

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

Ray502 wrote:Did anyone in their younger days find the trumpets in Allergro Presto to be a pain in the arse? I got stuck on that level for a long time in my early years.
I only remember getting stuck in the Swamps of Forgetfulness.
Image

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Haruka »

I remember to have bigger issues in Picture City. That world should have been Mr. Dark's real lair. :mryellow:

KWO
Bébé Globox
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 1:55 pm
Tings: 40

Re: Rayman 1

Post by KWO »

Probably already known at this point, but I found a hidden mono sound setting in-game in the PS1 pal version using Cheat Engine.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Haruka »

Well guys, the Rayman 1 SNES Prototype was finally dumped! Credits go to Ocornut (https://twitter.com/ocornut/status/881876378056085505) for the dump and share. :D

https://t.co/F3XB9XRhTA

Don't forget to thank him in case you have a twitter!

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 50019
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404185

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Master »

Right, can it be run on an emulator, or is there some fiddling that's required?

EDIT: Think I should make a news post on the portal about this?
Image

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Haruka »

It can be played in an emulator. I will see if today I can already update my channel with this content. Nothing much can be done as it is a very early build (the one Ancel showed) but better than nothing. Do write it!

EDIT: Already posted my own video in my channel. :)
Last edited by Haruka on Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Eren
Bzzit
Posts: 2486
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 2:46 pm
Location: Italy
Tings: 24213

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Eren »

It's incredible how we went from having just 2 pics on a french magazine to a playable prototype :D
Image
SIG UNDER CONSTRUCTION
Image Image
Steam Profile Youtube Account

buildersith
Électoon
Posts: 2212
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Lost in his thoughts, a map would be nice.
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 1

Post by buildersith »

Already recorded some gameplay myself of everything I could find that's playable, not much too it right now, if there are more levels in the prototype they'll probasbly need to be made accessible through a HEX editor, orif someone can find a cheat code to enter a debug mode of sorts. a couple notes from the description
-Pressing Y whilst stood still on a flat surface will pay an animation for Rayman charging his fist, releasing it will not cause any attack to happen though.
-pressing Y on slanted surface or whilst moving will just speed up the current animation
- Jumping seems to have 2 different animation, unable to determine what determines which one plays.
-This is currently the only playable level, its very short, it ends in a dead end.
Image
[steam: Buildersith][PSN: Buildersith]

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 50019
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404185

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Master »

Michel's mentioned it on his Instagram, he's joked about Rayman having a brother? https://www.instagram.com/p/BWF2U8TAX-h ... ichelancel
Image

buildersith
Électoon
Posts: 2212
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Lost in his thoughts, a map would be nice.
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 1

Post by buildersith »

Thanks to Stacey, I discovered a few more quick things about the prototype
-The squishing jumping animation that I was originally confused about plays when Rayman hits a roof.
- There's an hallway that doesn't have any artwork right above the starting point, the pipe to the left of the starting point can also be stood in.
- Rayman plays a GROOVY idle animation if you leave him for long enough, pulling out a jukebox, he starts breakdancing to it.
- falling form a certain height will stun Rayman and play a short Dazed animation.
Image
[steam: Buildersith][PSN: Buildersith]

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 1

Post by GOT4N »

Posted a video too. Also L+R triggers an animation, and you can change it and access a Rayman whistling animation.

Cairnie
Magicien
Posts: 9820
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: robin hood land
Contact:
Tings: 78510

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Cairnie »

Small as it is I'm really glad that a ROM has finally been retrieved. It must have been what, roughly 7 years from the moment it was first put in Pix n Love to today pretty much. I'm now hoping it could be data mined and have sprites ripped and stuff, who knows what else could be lurking in the code.
giant photobucket picture wuz ere

so wuz old psn banner

you know old out of date stuff

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 31357
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: [raytunes]bge-44[/raytunes]
Contact:
Tings: 3385

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

It's… beautiful! :o :fou2:
I guess that L+R animation was what they wanted to do in the Jaguar prototype too, but it made it crash for whatever reason.

Eren
Bzzit
Posts: 2486
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 2:46 pm
Location: Italy
Tings: 24213

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Eren »

So, I'm 100% sure that in the ROM there must be enemy sprites and other unfinished levels (possibly Rayman sister/whatever she is too), also what's up with Rayman when he is charging his fist, he looks like a dragon ball Z character with all those lightnings.. and for some reasons in the map I found an invisible wall where Rayman hits his head, odd...
Image
SIG UNDER CONSTRUCTION
Image Image
Steam Profile Youtube Account

Greeness
Oiseau Moqueur
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:39 pm
Contact:
Tings: 16900

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Greeness »

It also appears that there's a early version of the run button in the game by holding the Y button while walking, though it has no animation.
There's also a ledge animation but it seems to be still very basic.
Rare Rayman images Drive folder:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Feel free to share any rare media that's missing.

RibShark
Matuvu
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 120

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RibShark »

Image

Number 20 on trending :O.

Ambidextroid
Jano
Posts: 12660
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:04 am
Location: Jaffa Castle
Tings: 85715

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Ambidextroid »

Eren wrote:and for some reasons in the map I found an invisible wall where Rayman hits his head, odd...
I was playing around and noticed there's a secret passage next to the chute which leads to an invisible path, if I'm not mistaken this is probably what you hit your head on:
snip1.PNG
snip2.PNG
Also I was playing around with the ram in a hex editor and managed to find an alternate sprite of Rayman, seemingly half naked:
snip5.PNG
snip5.PNG (2.84 KiB) Viewed 1494 times
:shock:

And a slightly glitchier view with a larger portion of the sprite sheet visible:
snip3.PNG
snip3.PNG (17.26 KiB) Viewed 1494 times
Image

Rock_TBT
Mouru
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 855

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Rock_TBT »

Ambidextroid wrote:
Eren wrote:and for some reasons in the map I found an invisible wall where Rayman hits his head, odd...
I was playing around and noticed there's a secret passage next to the chute which leads to an invisible path, if I'm not mistaken this is probably what you hit your head on:
snip1.PNGsnip2.PNG

Also I was playing around with the ram in a hex editor and managed to find an alternate sprite of Rayman, seemingly half naked:

snip5.PNG :shock:

And a slightly glitchier view with a larger portion of the sprite sheet visible:

snip3.PNG
Is it possible to open that game on a computer? I thought it was on a super-rare catridge.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 31357
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: [raytunes]bge-44[/raytunes]
Contact:
Tings: 3385

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

The concept of Rayomz isn't entirely new then, I guess.

And yes Rock, Ocornut dumped the ROM.

Fifo
Mr Sax
Posts: 8886
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Contact:
Tings: 27255

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Fifo »

Rock_TBT wrote:Is it possible to open that game on a computer? I thought it was on a super-rare catridge.
The cartridge was ripped, you can download it here: https://bit.ly/2tP3Ljd

Post Reply