Rayman 1

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

Jaguar
8
5%
PC
41
25%
PlayStation
92
56%
Saturn
13
8%
Game Boy Colour
0
No votes
Game Boy Advance
5
3%
DSi
6
4%
 
Total votes: 165

StelzenBomber
Mr Sax
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Thank you!
Fifo
Uglette
Posts: 9079
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Tings: 29567

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Fifo »

Come and participate in the annual Rayman survey!

Image
Signature made with love by R4Y_ANC3L
StelzenBomber
Mr Sax
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Thank you so much!
The Jonster
Ly
Posts: 30585
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 92501

Re: Rayman 1

Post by The Jonster »

Fun fact: Space Mama in Rayman 1 is called "meredenis" in the source code. In France, Mère Denis was -like Space Mama- a rather big old lady who was well known because she appeared in commercials for washing machines, such as this one: https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x8rl2a
It's pretty obvious that she was a direct inspiration for Space Mama (and IMO that's slightly mean of the R1 team).

Fun fact #2: This minigame in RRR2 also has the code name "MereDenis": https://youtu.be/AD-sfSjhJX0?t=2725
Interesting, that does explain why she has the washing machine the second time around when you fight her. I still hate that washing machine :lol:
The second fact makes me wonder if perhaps Space Mama possibly would have made some sort of appearance in the second RRR game....
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm
^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30777
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 230626

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

I'm pretty sure that explains it, I always wondered why it was there. :P

I have been hit by the machine when it starts bouncing at times, but I usually get away with crawling under it.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
PluMGMK
Estellia
Posts: 32462
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 7603

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

The Jonster wrote: Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:18 pm The second fact makes me wonder if perhaps Space Mama possibly would have made some sort of appearance in the second RRR game....
I'm pretty sure it's a coincidence, since it references a different aspect of the ads (the "before" section). There were probably completely different teams working on the two games.

(Yes, I know I'm the person who insists on a connection between the "Monstroplante" references in Rayman 2 and BG&E, but the connections are a bit more salient, and Michel himself had a hand in both instances…)

Anyway, nice find. How was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?
Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 5038
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 59300

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Droolie »

PluMGMK wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:50 pmHow was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?
The Android version of Rayman Classic still has symbol names so decompiling it can result in code that's almost readable:
Image
StelzenBomber
Mr Sax
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly
PluMGMK
Estellia
Posts: 32462
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 7603

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

Droolie wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:31 pm
PluMGMK wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:50 pmHow was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?
The Android version of Rayman Classic still has symbol names so decompiling it can result in code that's almost readable:
https://i.imgur.com/gUuTenA.png
That's so cool! I love all the Frenglish that turns up in this sort of code!
dr_st
Oiseau Moqueur
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:52 pm
Tings: 17353

Re: Rayman 1

Post by dr_st »

And I love the fact that when you are looking at decompilation, all the clever loops and control constructs turn into a bunch of "goto"s. :)
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30777
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 230626

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

StelzenBomber wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:27 pm So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly
That might be better suited on the likes of the Swamps of Forgetfulness, where you're falling down to fight the mosquito. The difference in falling speed would be substantial.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
StelzenBomber
Mr Sax
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Steo wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:09 pm
StelzenBomber wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:27 pm So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly
That might be better suited on the likes of the Swamps of Forgetfulness, where you're falling down to fight the mosquito. The difference in falling speed would be substantial.
That could work, thanks!
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 79571
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 574345

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

PluMGMK wrote: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:57 pm Anyone ever notice that you can get a life statue by falling down behind the exit sign in the level where Betilla gives you the helicopter power?
I think I remember finding out about this during my first playthrough. Like, can you possibly die in a Betilla level? Didn't think so, so I gave it a try.

Rayman 1 had a really cool exploration side to it with all those cages that you had to find to finish the game. I think it took me months as a kid to find them all.
insert sig for RPC's 17th bday
Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 5038
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 59300

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Droolie »

I don't really know where to put this, but I dumped the five Dutch versions of the Rayman edutainment games that I own: https://archive.org/details/rayeduquiz_nl

Includes:
- French with Rayman (Beginner) (so 1 out of two difficulty levels)
- English with Rayman (Advanced) (so 1 out of two difficulty levels)
- Rayman Junior (all three difficulty levels)

Maybe these will be of some interest to collectors.
raymandesigner
Grand Mini
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:07 am
Tings: 771

Re: Rayman 1

Post by raymandesigner »

Rayman Picture City Screen Shot Image
Picture City Inside a red circle Unknown Sprite Where have you seen Please answer.
12RayChienne9
Pâquerette
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:23 pm
Tings: 13017

Re: Rayman 1

Post by 12RayChienne9 »

raymandesigner wrote: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:09 pm Rayman Picture City Screen Shot Image
Picture City Inside a red circle Unknown Sprite Where have you seen Please answer.
I don't know what it is, but I think this is actually a glitch, but I'm not sure. :?:
Image
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2147
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29194

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RayCarrot »

Here's a mod for Rayman 1 which makes all platforms in all levels slippery (like in Band Land): https://drive.google.com/open?id=1F7qNO ... kPhguWtX44

To use it, download and extract the files and replace them with the existing level files. This is only for the PC version. Let me know if you want other similar mods as I made a tool which can easily modify the levels (except any events, like enemies etc.).
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 79571
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 574345

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

RayCarrot wrote: Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:52 pm Here's a mod for Rayman 1 which makes all platforms in all levels slippery
But... why? :paranormal:
insert sig for RPC's 17th bday
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2147
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29194

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RayCarrot »

Why not? :P
Mainly I'm experimenting with the file format. So far I've managed to extract the maps for every level including their collision properties. You can see some examples on my Twitter.
PluMGMK
Estellia
Posts: 32462
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 7603

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

Hmm. Playing Rayman 2 in first-person mode didn't increase the difficulty that much for me. This on the other hand sounds like it would really send me back to square one. :noel:

Anyway, nice work! Wasn't Chacanger or someone working on the file format before? Was none of that work released or documented?
Post Reply