Rayman 1

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

Jaguar
8
5%
PC
38
25%
PlayStation
84
55%
Saturn
13
8%
Game Boy Colour
0
No votes
Game Boy Advance
5
3%
DSi
6
4%
 
Total votes: 154

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1693
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19942

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber » Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:18 am

Thank you!

Fifo
Uglette
Posts: 8749
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Tings: 26570

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Fifo » Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:44 pm


StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1693
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19942

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber » Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:46 pm

Thank you so much!

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 27209
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: En el más largo de los atajos
Tings: 74655

Re: Rayman 1

Post by The Jonster » Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:18 pm

Fun fact: Space Mama in Rayman 1 is called "meredenis" in the source code. In France, Mère Denis was -like Space Mama- a rather big old lady who was well known because she appeared in commercials for washing machines, such as this one: https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x8rl2a
It's pretty obvious that she was a direct inspiration for Space Mama (and IMO that's slightly mean of the R1 team).

Fun fact #2: This minigame in RRR2 also has the code name "MereDenis": https://youtu.be/AD-sfSjhJX0?t=2725
Interesting, that does explain why she has the washing machine the second time around when you fight her. I still hate that washing machine :lol:
The second fact makes me wonder if perhaps Space Mama possibly would have made some sort of appearance in the second RRR game....
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26860
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 185713

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo » Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:23 pm

I'm pretty sure that explains it, I always wondered why it was there. :P

I have been hit by the machine when it starts bouncing at times, but I usually get away with crawling under it.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 30579
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 5928

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:50 pm

The Jonster wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:18 pm
The second fact makes me wonder if perhaps Space Mama possibly would have made some sort of appearance in the second RRR game....
I'm pretty sure it's a coincidence, since it references a different aspect of the ads (the "before" section). There were probably completely different teams working on the two games.

(Yes, I know I'm the person who insists on a connection between the "Monstroplante" references in Rayman 2 and BG&E, but the connections are a bit more salient, and Michel himself had a hand in both instances…)

Anyway, nice find. How was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 5010
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 57610

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Droolie » Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:31 pm

PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:50 pm
How was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?
The Android version of Rayman Classic still has symbol names so decompiling it can result in code that's almost readable:
Image

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1693
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19942

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:27 pm

So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly

PluMGMK
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 30579
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 5928

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:52 pm

Droolie wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:31 pm
PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:50 pm
How was this reference found in the Rayman 1 code?
The Android version of Rayman Classic still has symbol names so decompiling it can result in code that's almost readable:
https://i.imgur.com/gUuTenA.png
That's so cool! I love all the Frenglish that turns up in this sort of code!

dr_st
Photographe
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:52 pm
Tings: 7257

Re: Rayman 1

Post by dr_st » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:12 pm

And I love the fact that when you are looking at decompilation, all the clever loops and control constructs turn into a bunch of "goto"s. :)

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26860
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 185713

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:09 pm

StelzenBomber wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:27 pm
So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly
That might be better suited on the likes of the Swamps of Forgetfulness, where you're falling down to fight the mosquito. The difference in falling speed would be substantial.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1693
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19942

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:26 pm

Steo wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:09 pm
StelzenBomber wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:27 pm
So i have a question

Would it be possible to edit a map in rayman 1 (both NTSC AND PAL) for rayman 1 to just be a straingt line?

Im trying to make a video that demonstrates the speed difference between the 2 versions and i dont think there is a map that is just a straight line without enemies or any jumping sadly
That might be better suited on the likes of the Swamps of Forgetfulness, where you're falling down to fight the mosquito. The difference in falling speed would be substantial.
That could work, thanks!

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 77670
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 555767

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 » Fri Dec 06, 2019 5:41 pm

PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:57 pm
Anyone ever notice that you can get a life statue by falling down behind the exit sign in the level where Betilla gives you the helicopter power?
I think I remember finding out about this during my first playthrough. Like, can you possibly die in a Betilla level? Didn't think so, so I gave it a try.

Rayman 1 had a really cool exploration side to it with all those cages that you had to find to finish the game. I think it took me months as a kid to find them all.
Image

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 5010
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 57610

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Droolie » Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:14 pm

I don't really know where to put this, but I dumped the five Dutch versions of the Rayman edutainment games that I own: https://archive.org/details/rayeduquiz_nl

Includes:
- French with Rayman (Beginner) (so 1 out of two difficulty levels)
- English with Rayman (Advanced) (so 1 out of two difficulty levels)
- Rayman Junior (all three difficulty levels)

Maybe these will be of some interest to collectors.

raymandesigner
Grand Mini
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:07 am
Tings: 726

Re: Rayman 1

Post by raymandesigner » Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:09 pm

Rayman Picture City Screen Shot Image
Picture City Inside a red circle Unknown Sprite Where have you seen Please answer.

12RayChienne9
Roméo Patti
Posts: 256
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:23 pm
Tings: 9425

Re: Rayman 1

Post by 12RayChienne9 » Sat Dec 14, 2019 6:15 pm

raymandesigner wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:09 pm
Rayman Picture City Screen Shot Image
Picture City Inside a red circle Unknown Sprite Where have you seen Please answer.
I don't know what it is, but I think this is actually a glitch, but I'm not sure. :?:
Image

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1849
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 25594

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RayCarrot » Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:52 pm

Here's a mod for Rayman 1 which makes all platforms in all levels slippery (like in Band Land): https://drive.google.com/open?id=1F7qNO ... kPhguWtX44

To use it, download and extract the files and replace them with the existing level files. This is only for the PC version. Let me know if you want other similar mods as I made a tool which can easily modify the levels (except any events, like enemies etc.).

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 77670
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 555767

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:11 pm

RayCarrot wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:52 pm
Here's a mod for Rayman 1 which makes all platforms in all levels slippery
But... why? :paranormal:
Image

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1849
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 25594

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RayCarrot » Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:23 pm

Why not? :P
Mainly I'm experimenting with the file format. So far I've managed to extract the maps for every level including their collision properties. You can see some examples on my Twitter.

PluMGMK
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 30579
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 5928

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:28 pm

Hmm. Playing Rayman 2 in first-person mode didn't increase the difficulty that much for me. This on the other hand sounds like it would really send me back to square one. :noel:

Anyway, nice work! Wasn't Chacanger or someone working on the file format before? Was none of that work released or documented?

Post Reply