Rayman 2

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

PC
62
35%
Nintendo 64
3
2%
Dreamcast
28
16%
PlayStation 1
13
7%
Revolution (PlayStation 2)
63
36%
Forever (GBC)
2
1%
DS
1
1%
iOS
1
1%
3DS
2
1%
 
Total votes: 175

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 178335

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:20 am

Adsolution wrote:The N64 version hands-down looks better than the PS1 version, maybe barring raw texture resolution. The PS1 version has far lower-poly models and some really ugly visual/animation glitches.
That was just at first glance. I'll get a memory card then try it out properly. It looks kind of blurred on the N64 compared to the PS1 but it's hard to know if that's better with how Jagged the 3D models on PS1 are. Probably just similar to anti aliasing
$ sudo brain install intelligence
sudo: brain: command not found

Image

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Adsolution » Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:50 am

steocullen91 wrote:That was just at first glance. I'll get a memory card then try it out properly. It looks kind of blurred on the N64 compared to the PS1 but it's hard to know if that's better with how Jagged the 3D models on PS1 are. Probably just similar to anti aliasing
The N64 has a built-in anti-aliasing filter present in everything; it's kind of annoying, but that's the console. :P

Oh yeah, the N64 also runs at double the resolution of the PS1. Can't forget that one.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 178335

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:02 am

Adsolution wrote:Oh yeah, the N64 also runs at double the resolution of the PS1. Can't forget that one.
Ah so 480i vs 240p. I actually wasn't sure about that but I was wondering was it a higher resolution because it looks less blocky :)
$ sudo brain install intelligence
sudo: brain: command not found

Image

Thebananacrafter!
Robot Ninja
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:22 pm
Tings: 3340

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Thebananacrafter! » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:27 am

rayman 2 ps1 is hot garbage in my opinion, it makes so many unnecessary changes and has godawful voice acting
Image

CHRdutch
Bzzit
Posts: 5038
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:53 pm
Location: Ȩ̛̣̙̖̣ͨ́͒̆̽Cͫ͞Ḥ̴̹̳͎̺́̿ͤ̑͜҉̵̧̙͇̄
Tings: 23285

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CHRdutch » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:18 am

Adsolution wrote:
steocullen91 wrote:That was just at first glance. I'll get a memory card then try it out properly. It looks kind of blurred on the N64 compared to the PS1 but it's hard to know if that's better with how Jagged the 3D models on PS1 are. Probably just similar to anti aliasing
The N64 has a built-in anti-aliasing filter present in everything; it's kind of annoying, but that's the console. :P
I'm pretty sure that that's just composite video being ass.
Image
YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/user/CHRdutch
Ambidextroid wrote:< was in such a rush < had no time for breakfast, so < took a fistful of corn flakes and stuffed them in <'s mouth, then poured milk over the top. It worked but it drizzled milk all over <'s front...
Record Day 2015 madness

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 178335

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:01 pm

CHRdutch wrote:I'm pretty sure that that's just composite video being ass.
I thought my N64 or Rayman game I got was broken until I looked it up online and it turned out RGB didn't work. I find it odd how the SNES has RGB but the N64 doesn't. Suppose it's probably a lot of effort to RGB mod the thing.
$ sudo brain install intelligence
sudo: brain: command not found

Image

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Adsolution » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:30 pm

CHRdutch wrote:I'm pretty sure that that's just composite video being ass.
..No, it has anti-aliasing. Besides, I use S-Video.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 178335

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:54 pm

I searched a little bit about it and it looks like it's always just enabled by default. Apparently Quake has a setting to disable it and the only other way to do it with other games is to use gameshark codes. It's not game breaking anyway but that's apparently how to remove it. I seen they use a horizontal blurring method too.
$ sudo brain install intelligence
sudo: brain: command not found

Image

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 26881
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 79840

Re: Rayman 2

Post by The Jonster » Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:18 pm

I remember the first time I played this game. It took me about 1 day and 18 hours to finish because I couldn't stop myself from playing it. And bc I was such a perfectionist back then (I still am). Also I wuold keep going back to the Walkof Life/Power just to keep racing Ly.
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 178335

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:30 pm

I'll agree that it's a very addicting but brilliant game. My favourite of the series actually and the Dreamcast version is my favourite.

I got 100% on that version and Revolution. All 1000 lums. I recall someone on this forum couldn't find some lums on The Fairy Glade on Revolution or The Sanctuary Of Stone And Fire on the Dreamcast version but I don't know who that was so lets just forget about that :lol:
$ sudo brain install intelligence
sudo: brain: command not found

Image

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 26881
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 79840

Re: Rayman 2

Post by The Jonster » Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:32 pm

Who again?? :wink:
My favorite level, as I've said before, is the Sanctuary of Water and Ice because it's on an island. Curiously, I wonder if this island was the same one used in the cutscene intro.
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30086
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 13073

Re: Rayman 2

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:54 pm

I think the desolate wasteland at the end of the Hall of Doors is the same one from the intro.
But I think that island is too small to be the Sanctuary.

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 26881
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 79840

Re: Rayman 2

Post by The Jonster » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:57 pm

Hm, now that I take a closer look at the intro, you're right, it's too small and the cave leading inside isn't there :p Must take a closer look at the wasteland at the end of the path now...
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Adrian_
Électoon
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Tings: 5

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Adrian_ » Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm

Hi guys,

as some of you may already know, there is a late prototype of Rayman 2 for Dreamcast. I just finished playing it and wanted to share my experience.
I was looking for differences in levels design and I didn't find any, however I found some small differences:
- Different crystal locations - at least in Fairy Glade, it's not at the bottom before entering the area with air currents, but at the top near the exit
- There is some problem with the camera (but it may be in the final version as well, I just don't remember) - for example in Whale Bay if you keep swimming without any break, after some time the camera will get faster than you
- The 1000 lum and the secret corridor in Tomb of the Ancients are accessible, the lum isn't counted and the total amount still says 999 and 99.9% of the game is finished
- After defeating Razorbeard, when there's the end of credits the game is stuck - there is no way to go back to main menu.
ApCent_2018-04-04_18-51-59.png
- Globox Village is emptier - comparing with Haruka gameplay on youtube there's just a few baby Globoxes,
- Disk minigame doesn't contain the intro which is present in the final release,
- When you exit some of the minigames, it takes you back to the main menu instead of going back to Globox Village.

I'm wondering if there is something interesting left in files which could be undiscovered yet. Someone in here said that there are some differences in the level and texture files. I would appreciate if somebody with the right knowledge and tools looked into it :)

And also - hello! A long time reader, but I wasn't posting since English is not my native language. I hope there's something more to discover about Rayman 2 :)

gamerz31w
Poilu
Posts: 698
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 575

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:32 am

I noticed in Rayman 2 trailer there's different lums hud than in final version https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kCdO5KBbEuA it reminds me a tings/cages from Rayman 1.

Tulio
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:01 pm
Tings: 5485

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Tulio » Sun Apr 08, 2018 2:34 pm

Image

somebody forgot to hide Jano before he gets spawned inside the cave

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30086
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 13073

Re: Rayman 2

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:56 pm

Yeah, that glitch is well-known. I didn't think he was normally rotated 90° like that though…

StelzenBomber
Jamboombeur
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 17627

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:24 pm

RibShark wrote:I found out how to unlock Menezis on N64! You have to hold C-Left and repeatedly press A+B in the credits, and it will start. It's in full colour, unlike the PC and Dreamcast versions.
Is it in other versions too?
Im primarely thinking about the DS and ps1 version

Aaron
Rayman 1 Pensif
Posts: 7473
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: The Bog of Murk, eating a Mars bar
Tings: 62158

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Aaron » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:27 pm

StelzenBomber wrote:Is it in other versions too?
Im primarely thinking about the DS and ps1 version
Unfortunately no.
Image

StelzenBomber
Jamboombeur
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 17627

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:05 am

Aaron wrote:
StelzenBomber wrote:Is it in other versions too?
Im primarely thinking about the DS and ps1 version
Unfortunately no.
ok....
1 more question.
Is the gold fist texture still in the 3ds version?

Post Reply