Rayman 2

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

PC
64
36%
Nintendo 64
3
2%
Dreamcast
28
16%
PlayStation 1
14
8%
Revolution (PlayStation 2)
65
36%
Forever (GBC)
2
1%
DS
1
1%
iOS
1
1%
3DS
2
1%
 
Total votes: 180

RayCarrot
Bzzit
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 24334

Re: Rayman 2

Post by RayCarrot » Thu Oct 17, 2019 2:47 pm

If you go to the RayMap repo page on GitHub there are instructions there. You first need to download the repo as a zip file or clone it. Then open in Unity.

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:14 pm

I hope Adsolution will fix bugs of her RayTwol tool in the future.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26514
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 182133

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:26 pm

Ah, if it was the disc, I guess it makes sense that it didn't work.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:33 pm

Anyway I still don't know which file of RayMap will be readme file in github. What if something went wrong with importing Rayman Revolution maps by using different method I mean tool inside pcx2 emulator version 0.9.8 emulator itself extracted level maps as .obj.
Image
I downloaded older version of 3DS Max 2009 because why would I need both versions like in this thread?
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=25868

Jaster
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:25 am
Location: The Glade of Dreams.
Contact:
Tings: 10771

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Jaster » Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:08 pm

I was watching the teaser of Rayman Adventures (2000) again and I realized that some of the animations in that trailer are reused in the Rayman Revolution trailer, in the cgi parts.
Image

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1612
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19187

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:18 pm

Can you show me?

Elite Piranha
Mamma Voudou
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:47 am
Location: The Cave of Bad Dreams
Tings: 6404

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Elite Piranha » Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:30 pm

StelzenBomber wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:18 pm
Can you show me?
Look at these moments:

Rayman Revolution Trailer min. 1:22
Rayman Adventures (2000) min. 0:58

The background is different, but everything else is pretty much the same.


Image

Jaster
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:25 am
Location: The Glade of Dreams.
Contact:
Tings: 10771

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Jaster » Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:31 pm

StelzenBomber wrote:
Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:18 pm
Can you show me?
Sure, sorry I should have posted it with my previous message:

(They are in the timestamps with the same animations)

Adventures
https://youtu.be/WrozSDaCUtw?t=53

Revolution
https://youtu.be/HWkKXC8IyNo?t=42

Adventures
https://youtu.be/WrozSDaCUtw?t=58

Revolution
https://youtu.be/HWkKXC8IyNo?t=82
Image

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1612
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19187

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:33 pm

Okay, i see

Thats kinda wired

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:10 am

I never knew that RayTwol probably just like Raymap too can work with Unity.
Anyway it's working on Adsolution's pc,but not on mine.
Image
Image

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30354
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14603

Re: Rayman 2

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Oct 20, 2019 5:20 pm

PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:19 am
OK, somehow I've never heard of that, but when I tried to check it out just now I found Rayman 2 no longer launches on my PC. Why is everything going wrong today?? :ouin:
I finally got around to trying the J cheat for full energy, and it took a few tries for me to get it right, but wow! The animation is unique too: first the red bit fills up with yellow, then the yellow keeps growing until it gets to the full size! I wonder who thought of adding that…

As for why my game wasn't working, it seems that it suddenly needed to use nGlide, but wasn't set up to do so. When using the normal Wine renderer, the "available memory" was negative, which obviously made it crash. No idea what I did to screw it up, or even whether or not I was using nGlide before. I had the widescreen patch in place, so maybe I'd been messing with that, but I'm pretty sure I'd used it successfully in the past. Maybe a Wine update broke things…

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26514
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 182133

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sun Oct 20, 2019 5:47 pm

It's weird, since unlike pickwitt, it actually fills the health bar to it's maximum size.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Sun Oct 20, 2019 6:10 pm

How to solve this RayTwol a'la Unity problem myself or Raymap a'la Unity problem?

12RayChienne9
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:23 pm
Tings: 5044

Re: Rayman 2

Post by 12RayChienne9 » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:47 pm

gamerz31w wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 6:10 pm
How to solve this RayTwol a'la Unity problem myself or Raymap a'la Unity problem?
I don't know but my laptop has got Unity but the version is too newer (but not much) that I couldn't use well. :?:
Speaking of Rayman 2, the day after tomorrow this game will be 20 years after its premiere.

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Droolie » Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:27 pm

gamerz31w wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 6:10 pm
How to solve this RayTwol a'la Unity problem myself or Raymap a'la Unity problem?
I'm working on Raymap, so I can probably help, but I don't really understand the problem. Can you describe it again? What are you trying to do?

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:35 am

I want to extract all Rayman Revolution level maps and import it to Unreal Engine/Editor 1.

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Droolie » Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:44 pm

gamerz31w wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:35 am
I want to extract all Rayman Revolution level maps and import it to Unreal Engine/Editor 1.
You'll have to figure out the extraction yourself, but this is how to open Revolution in raymap:
1. For Revolution, you have to first use openspace-ps2-extractor (you need Java to run it) on the GAME.BF file to get the files.
2. Download the latest version of raymap from github and open it in Unity. If it doesn't open the MapViewer scene automatically, open that scene.
3. Open the Raymap settings window (1 in the screenshot below) and select the Rayman 2PS2 mode (2 in the screenshot).
Image
4. Configure the directory of the game next to Rayman 2 (PS2) in the directory list. This should be the directory that contains all the level directories (air_00, astro_00, etc).
5. Select the level next to "Map name" in the Raymap settings window.
6. Now you can run the game and it'll load the map you've selected.

Robin, the other Raymap developer, is working on export and import to Blender, but for Revolution it doesn't work yet. So again, I can't help you with the extraction yet.

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:25 pm

I'll be waiting for any future further updates of Raymap bug fixes in Unity.
Image

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Droolie » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:48 pm

gamerz31w wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:25 pm
I'll be waiting for any future further updates of Raymap bug fixes in Unity.
This is not a bug with Raymap or Unity - you just didn't open the project correctly. :) A few things that I'm noticing from your screenshot:
1. You're using Unity 2017. To open the latest version of Raymap, you also need the latest version of Unity (2019). (Unity should have warned you about that when opening the project, no?)
2. If after installing Unity 2019, you still get the error related to C# 6, I believe you need .NET framework 4.5.
2. Raymap should be in a separate directory, and openspace-ps2-extractor should be in its own directory as well.

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 810

Re: Rayman 2

Post by gamerz31w » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:52 pm

Well I thought I need Unity 2018.5.1f,but I didn't find it this version so in Unity Hub I found Unity 2017.5.1f old and outdated version.

Post Reply