Rayman Demos and Betas

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

SpyroGuy
Razoff
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 2:10 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:
Tings: 7336

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by SpyroGuy »

Harpic fraîcheur wrote:There is some differences in the PS2 Beta demo.
The "Holy Sheet!" only appears on the PS2 Beta demo. It doesn't on the PC Beta demo! :P
Holy Sheet!
Also, after checking the first post I noticed that the video links are leading to the videos I got the PC beta from in the first place...
(facepalm)
Now I remember why I had it archived in two parts as I had no idea why would I do such a thing myself. xD
Anyway, it never hurts to have a spare download link, so I'll do it. I'll also combine the parts, just to make things easier for anyone who wants to give it a go.

Edit: Here it is.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/siegwohzhfbnj ... C.zip?dl=0
Image
Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Haruka »

I wanted to see if I could open the Rayman Arena Beta for GameCube but it gives a reading error in the BIOS. Did anyone here manage to play it in Dolphin before?
Rayfist
Rayman 2
Posts: 12553
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:36 pm
Location: Right here, right now!
Tings: 176605

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Rayfist »

I have not tried it yet. I'll give it a whirl. Where can a beta iso for RA on GC be found?
Edit: Looked a page back, got it. Downloading.
Image
Steam PSN Youtube
Follow me on Twitter
Imco wrote:+ I just beat the hell out of my sister. That was great :D
OCG
Roméo Patti
Posts: 18569
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:24 am
Location: RPC Pirate Ship
Contact:
Tings: 9905

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by OCG »

Haruka wrote:I wanted to see if I could open the Rayman Arena Beta for GameCube but it gives a reading error in the BIOS. Did anyone here manage to play it in Dolphin before?
Try without BIOS
Image
Image [YouTube] [Facebook] [Twitter] [DeviantART]

[Skype: アンドリヤ (OCG)] [Xbox Live: OldClassicGamer] [PSN: OldClassicGamer] [Steam: OldClassicGamer] [Nintendo Network ID: OldClassicGamer] [3DS FC: 0275-8128-3030]

Thank Mr. Skeltal Image
GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by GOT4N »

Yeah do it without BIOS, it's completely playable for me, on an original GameCube and on Dolphin too. (I remember playing it on Dolphin)
Btw guys, i managed somehow to make a thing like Holy Sheet (forgot if it was holy sheet or not) and a 2x bar (powerup) on Skate level on Rayman 3 proto, forgot how to do it tho, it was something like circle + cross + L2 or R2 + up but not sure at all
Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Haruka »

Maybe it is the BIOS interfering, I will try out.

EDIT: Nevermind, it was really the BIOS. I had to check "Skip BIOS". Thanks!
spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by spiraldoor »


Has this been posted before? Pretty interesting to see how they basically condensed the game down to four representative levels for the demo, complete with a reworked world map (and plenty of wrong names).
GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by GOT4N »

yeah it's been posted
Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Haruka »

@Spiraldoor I personally don't remember to have seen it before. Shame it doesn't show anything new but it is a good demo of the level diversity.
haker120
Paluchard
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:14 pm
Tings: 200

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by haker120 »

spiraldoor wrote:
Betas:
Rayman 1:
Click here to download an early Atari Jaguar beta version of Rayman 1, found by Stan, I think
A video of this beta can be found here.

Demos:
Image

PlayStation Playstation Magazine UK CD5 vol2: Sorry link not available
Sega Saturn Playable Preview: Rayman Playable Game Preview (USA) (DW0885).rar ◄ Thanks to Madroms
Atari Jaguar Beta/Prototype ROM: R1-AJ.zip ◄ Thanks to Haruka!
Hello, as a new user, and please, I want those betas. Does anyone have it? :)
Shadowrayman
Pizzicatta
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 3255

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Shadowrayman »

How come when I go to download the Rayman 1 Atari Jaguar beta, it redirects me to this weird page of Sonic and the tab name says "ITS OVER" how come? It doesn't even let me download it. Please send me an alternative download link or something like that.
Computer Specs:
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz 2.90 GHz
Installed Memory (RAM): 8.00 GB (7.87 GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64 based processor Windows 10 Home
WizardMinecraft
Électoon
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:53 am
Location: DEATH HILL
Tings: 7

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by WizardMinecraft »

Shadowrayman wrote: when I go to download the Rayman 1 Atari Jaguar beta, it redirects me to this weird page of Sonic and the tab name says "ITS OVER" how come? It doesn't even let me download it.
Can you show us proof? did you go to a bad link? do you have to sign up to download it.?
Image
The Jonster
Ly
Posts: 30619
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 92671

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by The Jonster »

Shadowrayman wrote:How come when I go to download the Rayman 1 Atari Jaguar beta, it redirects me to this weird page of Sonic and the tab name says "ITS OVER" how come? It doesn't even let me download it. Please send me an alternative download link or something like that.
THIS would have been an appropriate time to bump, since it's 3 years since the last post.
WizardMinecraft wrote: Can you show us proof? did you go to a bad link? do you have to sign up to download it.?
He's not actually wrong, the link that leads to the prototype download seems to be broken. This was where the link led:
http://www.x-cult.org/prototopia/AtariJ ... ype%29.zip
Edit: From what I read it seems to have been taken down quite a long time ago. I've tried the other links on here but the files aren't there anymore (well it has been 3 years since the last post from ^^.
Last edited by The Jonster on Sat May 05, 2018 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm
^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:
Shadowrayman
Pizzicatta
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 3255

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Shadowrayman »

I try to look elsewhere on the internet but there is still no download links for the beta
Computer Specs:
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz 2.90 GHz
Installed Memory (RAM): 8.00 GB (7.87 GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64 based processor Windows 10 Home
ICUP321
Poilu
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 520

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by ICUP321 »

Shadowrayman wrote:I try to look elsewhere on the internet but there is still no download links for the beta
You can download both of the Rayman Atari Jaguar prototypes by looking them up on hiddenpalace.org
Shadowrayman
Pizzicatta
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 3255

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Shadowrayman »

ICUP321 wrote:
Shadowrayman wrote:I try to look elsewhere on the internet but there is still no download links for the beta
You can download both of the Rayman Atari Jaguar prototypes by looking them up on hiddenpalace.org
Thank you very much
Computer Specs:
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz 2.90 GHz
Installed Memory (RAM): 8.00 GB (7.87 GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64 based processor Windows 10 Home
Coroice
Électoon
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 12:55 pm
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Coroice »

Hi, new member here.
I've managed to retrieve three Rayman 3 demo CDs (in French, for PC) I got as a kid, and I thought it might interest some people on these forums (as well as people maintaining the wiki).
Image

Should I rip them and scan the cases?

EDIT: Put them all into my disk reader quickly, and I've discovered some things:
- Demo 1 seems to use the same executable as the Joystick demo (EXE from December 9, 2002)
- Demo 2 has its EXE dated from January 6, 2003
- Demo 3 *also* has its EXE dated from January 6, 2003
- All demos have their Gamedatabin folder dated from February 26, 2003 (if that matters).
Last edited by Coroice on Wed Jan 06, 2021 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Elite Piranha
Murray
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:47 am
Location: Ly's Palace
Tings: 22225

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Elite Piranha »

Coroice wrote: Wed Jan 06, 2021 1:09 pm Should I rip them and scan the cases?
That would be great, I don't think these demos are in archive.org. The wiki mentions a european R3 demo, but it is for the PS2.
Image
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 80136
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 577370

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by Hunchman801 »

Hi Coroice and welcome to this place! You can introduce yourself here if you like.

Interesting find regarding those demos, they're not mentioned on the wiki at the moment. Looks like they were distributed in Quick fast food restaurants, in France or in Belgium. In any case, definitely worth ripping and documenting. :up:
Image
RibShark
Flabard
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 165

Re: Rayman Demos and Betas

Post by RibShark »

Coroice wrote: Wed Jan 06, 2021 1:09 pm Should I rip them and scan the cases?
Please do! I have been looking for these for quite some time. Ideally, can you use a tool like ISOBuster that produces a .bin/.cue or Daemon Tools that produces a .mdf? These formats are best suited for preservation of CD based media.
Post Reply