Rayman 3D

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Post Reply
Janic
Feuillu
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Belgium
Tings: 445

Rayman 3D

Post by Janic » Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:52 pm

Image

'Aussie classification board reveals the existence of Rayman 3D, and it’s probably a port

Rayman 3D, which has not been officially announced for the Nintendo 3DS has been rated by the Australian classifications board. This is very likely to be a port of Rayman Origins which was rumored a long while back to be in the works. And like I’ve said at some point in the past, seeing the game’s gorgeous art style in 3D would be pretty cool, so let’s hope they’re not porting some other iterations of the series.

Image

Check after the break for a screen capture of the actual classification.'
Source: http://nintendo3dsblog.com/aussie-class ... -611531608
Last edited by Janic on Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Rayman Origins FTW! ----------------------------------------> Janic

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Droolie » Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:56 pm

I think that might be a port of Rayman 3. I'm not hoping for a new Rayman or a 3D port of Origins, because I know Ubisoft likes to port old games. And god forbid it's another port of Rayman 2.

Rsandee
Oumbr
Posts: 5679
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: Nice try, FBI
Tings: 59460

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Rsandee » Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:57 pm

I hope it isn't Rayman 1 on the 3DS... we have enough versions of that game.

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by spiraldoor » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:43 pm

My money’s on Rayman 2. I’m fine with endless ports, as long as they also continue to improve endlessly. No way is this Rayman Origins; it makes no sense that the 3DS version of an episodic game would be so finished that it’s ready to be rated. The 3DS version won’t be released until late 2011 at the earliest. It would be bizarre for them to call a clearly 2D game ‘3D’ (it would create misconceptions even if it’s true in one respect; this also rules out Rayman 1), and new multiplatform games almost never get retitled depending on which system they’re coming out for. Another possibility is that this is a port of Rayman 3 (‘Rayman 3’, ‘3D’, ‘Rayman 3D’, get it? Genius!), but Rayman 2 is the better game and the one that usually tends to be released on handhelds.

Janic
Feuillu
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Belgium
Tings: 445

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Janic » Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:43 pm

spiraldoor wrote:Another possibility is that this is a port of Rayman 3 (‘Rayman 3’, ‘3D’, ‘Rayman 3D’, get it? Genius!), but Rayman 2 is the better game and the one that usually tends to be released on handhelds.
I think it would be really cool to play that game in 3D. Just the intro where Murfy flies with Rayman would be so cool in 3D. But I don't think that will happen. UbiSoft is just too lazy to port the CONSOLE version of Rayman 3 and put little extra's in it. Look at Rayman DS. :(
Image
Rayman Origins FTW! ----------------------------------------> Janic

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Droolie » Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:31 pm

spiraldoor wrote:... but Rayman 2 is the better game and the one that usually tends to be released on handhelds.
Don't forget that they already have Rayman DS, which is Rayman 2 for DS, and DS games are playable on 3DS as well.
They also have Rayman 1 for DSiWare (also playable on 3DS), so I'm almost sure this will be Rayman 3. Especially since you can compare the power of the 3DS to that of the gamecube.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Haruka » Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:14 pm

That's an interesting finding. I am predicting that it is another Rayman 2 port or a Rayman 3 port.

AJack
Reclu
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:46 am
Location: Australia
Tings: 612

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by AJack » Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:09 am

If it wasn't for 'MULTIPLATFORM' tag I'd have put my money on this being the rumored Rayman PS3 collection. Sly Cooper got 3D capability in it's release, so it isn't much of a leap to assume that Rayman might.
Image

Rayman Origins Progress: Electoons: 213/246 - Skull Teeth: 10/10 - Land of the Livid Dead Completed? Hell no.

Sabertooth
Joe
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 8:15 am
Location: Probably somewhere
Contact:
Tings: 53310

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Sabertooth » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:38 am

Honestly, if this isn't the 3DS version of Origins, I'm really hoping it'll be Rayman 3. We have yet to receive a single port of this, while 1 and 2 are all over the place. I'm certainly not expecting it to be a good port, but if it's in 3D, sign me up!
BestXIII wrote:The knaarens are very big shitass! :grrrrrr:

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Haruka » Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:30 pm

Sabertooth1000000000 wrote:Honestly, if this isn't the 3DS version of Origins, I'm really hoping it'll be Rayman 3. We have yet to receive a single port of this, while 1 and 2 are all over the place. I'm certainly not expecting it to be a good port, but if it's in 3D, sign me up!
I don't know deeply the hardware of the Nintendo 3DS but if Nintendo DS could run games like a Nintendo 64 1.5 (SM64DS had better graphical quality than the original game for the N64), why not the 3DS being able to run games with approximate GCN quality? If it is like this, the game would look a bit pixelized but it would be fantastic to have a first port of R3's Nintendo GameCube version.

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by spiraldoor » Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:16 pm

If this turns out to be Rayman 2, it may well be the best version of Rayman 2 released so far.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Haruka » Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:50 pm

spiraldoor wrote:If this turns out to be Rayman 2, it may well be the best version of Rayman 2 released so far.
If that happens, I hope they don't commit the same error as they did with Rayman DS. They could have spent some time correcting the diagonal runnings with the D-Pad, smooting the graphics and improving them to take potential of Nintendo DS's hardware and if the touch screen was to have the final function we know, to add a button mapping option for right-handed people.

iHeckler9
Œil Rebondissant
Posts: 4530
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Pink Plant Woods
Tings: 30

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by iHeckler9 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:51 pm

spiraldoor wrote:If this turns out to be Rayman 2, it may well be the best version of Rayman 2 released so far.
I agree with that.

But wait, it WAS 3D in the first place.
Image
Current Rank: Jumping Eye. "AH GOD I DROPPED MY CONTACT LENS AGAIN"
A recent survey shows that 1 in 4 people are mentally unstable.
Check your friends, if they say 'no', it must be you... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :fou: :mrgreen:

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Droolie » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:17 pm

The thing is, we're all thinking of some sort of 3DS game, but everyone ( including me at first ) seems to forget the multiplatform tag. What if this is actually a multiplatform remake of Rayman 1... in 3D? That would be too awesome to be true of course, but you never know.
Of course the multiplatform thing could just mean that it's been released on other platforms before.

YamiRayman
Bétilla
Posts: 6801
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:29 pm
Location: Detroit Rock City !
Tings: 80250

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by YamiRayman » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:36 pm

Your, English forum, are so speed, I wanted write this topic myself when I see you already talk about it :P
Another Article about Rayman 3D in french but it very esay to translate. One in english :wink:

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Haruka » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:45 pm

Drolpiraat wrote:The thing is, we're all thinking of some sort of 3DS game, but everyone ( including me at first ) seems to forget the multiplatform tag. What if this is actually a multiplatform remake of Rayman 1... in 3D? That would be too awesome to be true of course, but you never know.
Of course the multiplatform thing could just mean that it's been released on other platforms before.
That would be too much fantastic, but sadly I doubt it is a remake of Rayman 1 in 3D.

YamiRayman
Bétilla
Posts: 6801
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:29 pm
Location: Detroit Rock City !
Tings: 80250

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by YamiRayman » Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:13 pm

I'll don't really like the idea about Rayman 1 in 3D. The Tittle Rayman 3D sobering...

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by spiraldoor » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:03 pm

Drolpiraat wrote:The thing is, we're all thinking of some sort of 3DS game, but everyone ( including me at first ) seems to forget the multiplatform tag. What if this is actually a multiplatform remake of Rayman 1... in 3D? That would be too awesome to be true of course, but you never know.
Of course the multiplatform thing could just mean that it's been released on other platforms before.
I can’t say I’m a big fan of that idea. I love Rayman 1 the way it is and wouldn’t like to see its place in the series usurped by a 3D version. If they’re going to go to the trouble of creating a 3D game retelling the story of Rayman 1, why not just make Rayman 4 instead? Besides, ‘3D’ means ‘stereoscopic 3D’ these days; the ‘it uses polygons’ meaning has fallen out of use. The title ‘Rayman 3D’ just doesn’t seem like it would be used for a 3D Rayman game in 2011. Maybe ten years ago.

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4995
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54485

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Droolie » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:18 pm

You're right about that. What about the multiplatform tag then though?

Hedgehog673
Master Kaag
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 10:21 pm
Location: In your head
Contact:
Tings: 4705

Re: Rumor: Rayman 3D

Post by Hedgehog673 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:21 pm

I think a 3D version of Rayman: Hoodlums Revenge would be cool. But, on the other hand, it would look much like Rayman 3, but it could seem as a 3DS version of Rayman 3, then.(Seeing as the GBA version of R3 were also very different than the original)
Current Rank: Heckler
Main coder of my team's main project, Rayman: Dark Era.

Post Reply