That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

R@yman1995
Lums Noir
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:25 am
Tings: 50

That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by R@yman1995 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:29 am

Something that hass always bugged me, this thing is ALWAYS grayed out every single time i've played, in the 7 years i've owned this game, i still never discovered what it's purpose is...

Image

edit: Okay, that photo is way too big, my bad :/

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:36 am

It's only available once you've beaten the level you're on I believe.

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by spiraldoor » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:23 am

It’s automatically available in the Crow’s Nest. In the N64 version, that’s the only level where that option even exists.

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:28 am

spiraldoor wrote:It’s automatically available in the Crow’s Nest. In the N64 version, that’s the only level where that option even exists.
Given your username you're bound to know the inner workings behind the Glade's transport system. Can you provide us with more information?

You see, the spiral door transports someone through and from the Hall of Doors, and one can only do so after they have freed the teensie with the power to create an exit. Then, you are free to travel between it as you wish. At least that is my theory.

Rulez
Robot
Posts: 14839
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:
Tings: 2285

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Rulez » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:09 pm

When I asked this question years ago Spiral booned me.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Master » Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:09 pm

Does this even warrant a new topic? It could easily have been posted in the R2 thread.
Image

dondu97
Magicien Ptizetre
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:13 pm
Tings: 1675

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by dondu97 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:30 pm

The only reason the Hall of Doors option is present is because after you play the Prison Ship level (the level I hate because It is the only level I cannot find all the lums on) you are taken directly to the Crow's Nest, with no return to the Hall of Doors. If you choose the option, you can go back to the Hall of Doors and save the game. However, I do find it pointless and annoying that they have the grayed out option on every level
Add me on Miiverse! My name is "dondu97". Now if only more people would get a Wii U.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Master » Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:44 pm

dondu97 wrote:The only reason the Hall of Doors option is present is because after you play the Prison Ship level (the level I hate because It is the only level I cannot find all the lums on) you are taken directly to the Crow's Nest, with no return to the Hall of Doors. If you choose the option, you can go back to the Hall of Doors and save the game. However, I do find it pointless and annoying that they have the grayed out option on every level
Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
Image

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by spiraldoor » Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:52 pm

Master4lyf1 wrote:Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
You do? That’s not how I remember it. Maybe it depends on the version.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Master » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:07 pm

spiraldoor wrote:
Master4lyf1 wrote:Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
You do? That’s not how I remember it. Maybe it depends on the version.
http://youtu.be/gbhfVQhTgtk?t=3h51m55s

This is the PC version, and as you can see, you return to the Hall Of Doors.
Image

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:31 pm

You only return to the Hall of Doors after the Prison Ship on the PC and PS2 versions. All the rest transport you straight to The Crow's Nest.

dondu97
Magicien Ptizetre
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:13 pm
Tings: 1675

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by dondu97 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:34 pm

Master4lyf1 wrote:Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
Well when I played it, it skipped straight to the boss battle. Perhaps the person who edited the video cut that part out?
Add me on Miiverse! My name is "dondu97". Now if only more people would get a Wii U.

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:34 pm

dondu97 wrote:
Master4lyf1 wrote:Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
Well when I played it, it skipped straight to the boss battle. Perhaps the person who edited the video cut that part out?
Read my reply above.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Master » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:54 pm

RayFan9876 wrote:
dondu97 wrote:
Master4lyf1 wrote:Incorrect, you DO return to the Hall of Doors once the Prison Ship is completed.
Well when I played it, it skipped straight to the boss battle. Perhaps the person who edited the video cut that part out?
Read my reply above.
I see, that would make my opinion make sense, since the PS1, PS2 and PC versions are the version's I've played the most indepth, though I think you return to the Hall in the PS1 version as well, given that I have no memory of ever going directly to the Crows Nest in any version of Rayman 2 that I played upto that point.
Image

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:21 pm

The PS1 is the only version I haven't played, and I must get on it.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Haruka » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:04 pm

I remember that in the demo version of Rayman 2 for PC, the Hall of Doors was named as "Map Monde". Now the question is: they were really about to put a map, it was the early name of the Hall Of Doors or if it was actually the map of Dreamcast version.

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by spiraldoor » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:12 pm

I’ve always suspected that the Globox Village was originally intended to be a hub level. There are many unexplained paths to explore, and plenty of dead ends with no apparent purpose. I don’t think all that detail was added for no reason. I’d say it was originally meant to be filled with Spiral Doors, each one leading to a different level, but that they decided to go with the Isle of Doors for some reason, and quickly repurposed the prototype hub into a minigame zone.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Haruka » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:16 pm

It would be cool we being able to visit Ubisoft's studios and workers showing us unseen content. :P

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by Adsolution » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:30 pm

spiraldoor wrote:I’d say it was originally meant to be filled with Spiral Doors
A man can dream, a man can dream.

But you have a good point there, I'd never thought of that.

Haruka, I played the Rayman 2 demo on PC, but it started me half way through the Fairy Glade and it ended before the end of the level. How did you reach the "Hall" or "Isle" of Doors?

spiraldoor
Mr Dark
Posts: 12391
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:13 pm
Tings: 156595

Re: That 'Hall Of Doors' option on the pause menu

Post by spiraldoor » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:32 pm

The Hall of Doors, the Isle of Doors and the Teensie Circles are already filled with Spiral Doors, so it’s not a very ambitious ‘dream’.

Post Reply