Rayman Legends

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

Wii U
48
34%
PlayStation 3
15
11%
Xbox 360
7
5%
PlayStation Vita
4
3%
PC
35
25%
PlayStation 4
19
14%
Xbox One
4
3%
Switch
8
6%
 
Total votes: 140

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

I don't mind the loading times either, I'm basically saying that aside from the longer loading times, it's exactly the same, a perfect port of the game which you can play on the go. :)
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 78053
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 559849

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Hunchman801 »

PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:12 pm
Problem is, if we add a new option it resets the poll.
Maybe I could try to do that manually? Kinda sucks how phpBB doesn't have an option for that.
Image

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30949
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: [raytunes]bge-44[/raytunes]
Contact:
Tings: 3130

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by PluMGMK »

Hunchman801 wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 6:42 pm
PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:12 pm
Problem is, if we add a new option it resets the poll.
Maybe I could try to do that manually? Kinda sucks how phpBB doesn't have an option for that.
Sounds like a good idea!

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

With all versions of Legends being more or less the same, I'm not really sure which one to choose. I had chosen Xbox One, and also Xbox 360 for Origins, but I'm thinking that PC is technically better for them in a way.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 78053
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 559849

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Hunchman801 »

PluMGMK wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:54 pm
Sounds like a good idea!
Should be good now!
Windblade wrote:
Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:08 am
mmm i would say my favorite version is the switch version...but it isnt available on the poll above
Also notifying you. ;)
Image

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

I still never managed to even get 2km on the Murfy's Dungeon: As Far As You Can challenge. I don't know how you do it Plum, clearly I need more practice. :P
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30949
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: [raytunes]bge-44[/raytunes]
Contact:
Tings: 3130

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by PluMGMK »

I think it's about controlling your nerves and resisting the temptation to look at the counter. Kinda like the protagonist's father in that movie, "In Time". Maybe that's just me though!

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

Oh so it's one of those things where your nerves get the better of you if you look at the distance. It makes sense, the same thing actually happens to me in a lot of games. You'll know that feeling when you're stuck on a game for ages and you manage to advance further, you get really excited and you also get really nervous. :winkgrin:
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Aaron
Froutch
Posts: 7653
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: The Menhir Hills
Tings: 66628

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Aaron »

Steo wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:34 pm
Oh so it's one of those things where your nerves get the better of you if you look at the distance. It makes sense, the same thing actually happens to me in a lot of games. You'll know that feeling when you're stuck on a game for ages and you manage to advance further, you get really excited and you also get really nervous. :winkgrin:
That actually happens to me all the time in Rayman Legends and sometimes in Burnout 3 when I'm first in a race because in Burnout 3, because there's traffic unlike in the FlatOut series, you can screw up and that's what makes me feel nervous, or if someone slams, shunts, nudges or takes me down when I'm the leader at that point in time so I sometimes look at the position (which is bad because you have to pay attention to the traffic, be careful not to crash your car into oncoming traffic, and also do risks like near misses with other cars, drive on the wrong side of the road where there's oncoming traffic, drift around corners and obviously, you can't do all these risks while being careful not to crash your car all while paying attention to the position number). But yeah, especially in races, these things can get ya when your nerves take control.
Image

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

Oh yeah, racing games are notorious for it. You're in a really high speed race against other really fast cars and you can't help but be nervous. You feel like the driver in second place is right on your tail about to overtake you. :P

If there's one thing I can say about Legends, it's that I absolutely love the music levels. :D

They're just done it so nicely and it was very creative the way they went about it.

UPDATE: I've updated the Wiki on Splinter Ray, as it claims that he only makes an appearance on Xbox 360 and Nintendo Switch. He's actually on Xbox One too.

I've checked my Xbox 360 version as I was almost sure I had seen him on that before, but he's not there so I must have just confused it with Xbox One.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

SpyroGuy
Razoff
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 2:10 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:
Tings: 7321

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by SpyroGuy »

Steo wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:16 am
UPDATE: I've updated the Wiki on Splinter Ray, as it claims that he only makes an appearance on Xbox 360 and Nintendo Switch. He's actually on Xbox One too.

I've checked my Xbox 360 version as I was almost sure I had seen him on that before, but he's not there so I must have just confused it with Xbox One.
Splinter Ray was actually a pre-order exclusive skin for the 360 version (limited to a single retailer if I remember right), but afaik he's in the One version by default. Now that I actually have the Xbox 360 version myself, I wouldn't mind doing some hex editing on the game's save files once again, just to check whether the skin is included into the base game's files or is a completely separate DLC on it's own.

In order to do that, I need a save file from someone who has this skin and it's also equipped as the currently used one in said file.
Image

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

I suddenly want to play the PC version of this game a lot. I completed it on other platforms a while back, but since I own the PC version, why not play it again in 4k. Besides, I never did reach the final level of awesomeness in yet. :P
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

StelzenBomber
Murray
Posts: 1791
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 20932

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by StelzenBomber »

How do i unlock ubiray on ps4 easyly?

dr_st
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:52 pm
Tings: 11350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by dr_st »

Steo wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 6:48 pm
I suddenly want to play the PC version of this game a lot. I completed it on other platforms a while back, but since I own the PC version, why not play it again in 4k.
Isn't it locked to FHD anyways?

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

Nah and it's noticeably nicer looking in 3840x2160. Some sprites aren't a high enough res but most are.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

dr_st
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:52 pm
Tings: 11350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by dr_st »

Nice. Should try it on my 4K screen then. What about Origins?

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

I think it looks much better too. Origins will have some slightly blurred aspects in some areas but only when the camera zooms in really far or the background on the Magician dance scene, but that scene is already like that even in 1080p. The actual sprites of characters look really nice though and a lot of levels do too.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 27406
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: En el más largo de los atajos
Tings: 75615

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by The Jonster »

Been playing the game most of the day, and I think I've said this before, but I really like the idea of the musical levels. I like the levels Mariachi Madness, Gloo Gloo (hahahaha), and Grannies World Tour, though I'm now at Livid Dead Party and I'm having a slight amount of trouble with all the 8-bit music levels, mainly bc if I mess up I seem to have to start from the very beginning no matter where I mess up and I usually messed up frequently in the normal levels. Or maybe that's just bc I'm playing the PC version or maybe bc it's my first time going through these levels? But anyways I still find them fascinating.
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 27250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 128350

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by Steo »

Yeah I used to struggle with those too on my first playthrough, but trust me, they get easier. ;)

I'm glad you're enjoying the game. :D
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30949
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: [raytunes]bge-44[/raytunes]
Contact:
Tings: 3130

Re: Rayman Legends

Post by PluMGMK »

Yeah, the 8-bit levels always send you back to the start. They are, after all, a throwback to when we didn't have many of the luxuries of modern gaming, including automatic checkpoints!

Post Reply