Linux

Talk about everything but Rayman!

Moderator: English moderators

Post Reply
incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:19 am

The kernel itself is not compatible with my GPU, and I know how easy it is to add a module, but it is just the fact I have to recompile the kernel that bothers me.
And I already run a generic kernel.

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 855

Re: Linux

Post by gamerz31w » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:59 am

It's boring and difficult operating system to me.

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:26 am

How long does it take you to recompile the kernel?

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:36 pm

One hour or so, depends on how lazy I am.

LoveMetal
Reflux
Posts: 14875
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:11 pm
Tings: 117404

Re: Linux

Post by LoveMetal » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:37 pm

What GPU is it, out of curiosity?
Image

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:37 pm

I see. Still, that's not too long, is it? Or can you not do anything else while it's going on?

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:53 pm

LoveMetal wrote:What GPU is it, out of curiosity?
GeForce GT 335M
PluMGMK wrote:I see. Still, that's not too long, is it? Or can you not do anything else while it's going on?
Doesn't worth it, it will be updated in a month or so.

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:18 pm

If you think so, reminds me of my attitude towards compiling the GUI version of Vim (figured I'd wait till version 8, but it turns that's a lot further away than I thought at the time, so here we are).

By the way, if anyone cares, compiling GTK2 also allowed me to install VMWare and not have it segfault immediately on launch, which will probably come in useful.

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:19 pm

Segmentation fault, lol, me getting started with my GPU and OpenGL a year ago.

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:19 pm

What were you trying to do?

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:38 pm

Making the Nvidia GLX working.
I later figured that being optimus, my computer wouldn't run with nvidia's glx, thus leaving me with a computer that triggered a segmentation fault each time an OpenGL app was launched, including complex desktop environments, these crashed and were unusable, and the pc was darn laggy.
Image

DandyGuy
Ptizêtre Femme
Posts: 6238
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 1772

Re: Linux

Post by DandyGuy » Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:24 am

incognito, a bit of an odd question but, do you have any experience finding kernel exploits?

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:35 am

Noep.

DandyGuy
Ptizêtre Femme
Posts: 6238
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 1772

Re: Linux

Post by DandyGuy » Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:42 am

Sorry :oops2:

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:55 am

I sometimes think you're a spy of some sort, searching for smart people to solve mysteries such as Cicada 3301 :hinhin:
The helmet might confuse people to think so but I ain't interested in working for Uncle Sam, too risky, don't wanna end up like snowden, I do beleive in the good that would be brought by a globalised new world order, but I'm not supporting the idea or the IlluminatiBut I do find the idea hardcore and badassToo much Deus Ex heheh.
But again it could be another manifestation of my severe paranoia.
________
To go back on the topic, I just readed that Windows 10 sent encrypted metadata on unsecured ports to Microsoft servers every 5 minutes, damn. Linux is was never so much needed.

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:05 pm

Linux and other FLOSS OSes, indeed. Which brings me to DragonFly.

I heard DragonFlyBSD (fork of FreeBSD) was dropping PulseAudio because it just doesn't bloody work on that OS. I decided I'd install it for fun in a VM and see what the hell was going on. I have come to the conclusion that it's not just Pulse, but essentially everything GNOME-related that is a complete cluster**** on DragonFly. The terminal wouldn't launch, and when I put a line in rc.conf to start all GNOME services, the thing wouldn't even log in if I had a CD in the (virtual) drive. :boon:

I guess if you want to use GNOME or even Pulse, you should stick with Linux. Not such a big deal really, since there's still a lot of good desktop software that runs on the BSDs.

I don't even know why I posted this rant here TBH, but if you're interested, there it is.

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:22 pm

I was thinking about giving BSD a try, but thanks for convincing me to stick on Slackware :mrgreen:.
Well, the version of Slackware I currently use (14.1), doesn't come with PulseAudio built in, but alsa instead, Skype needs Pulse audio, so I had to use a substitute, Apulse, whenever I have to launch Skype I have to use the command "apulse skype" not that much of a problem, but 14.2 dropped the alsa support to switch to Pulse.
GNOME is probably my favourite WM ever, it is my top WM alongside with Awesome, but since it is a pain in ass of my wallet to install it on Slackware...

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30403
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14848

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:24 pm

As I understand it though, normal FreeBSD works all right with GNOME and Pulse. Haven't tried it yet though.

DandyGuy
Ptizêtre Femme
Posts: 6238
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 1772

Re: Linux

Post by DandyGuy » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:22 pm

incognito wrote:I sometimes think you're a spy of some sort, searching for smart people to solve mysteries such as Cicada 3301 :hinhin:
The helmet might confuse people to think so but I ain't interested in working for Uncle Sam, too risky, don't wanna end up like snowden, I do beleive in the good that would be brought by a globalised new world order, but I'm not supporting the idea or the IlluminatiBut I do find the idea hardcore and badassToo much Deus Ex heheh.
But again it could be another manifestation of my severe paranoia.
________
To go back on the topic, I just readed that Windows 10 sent encrypted metadata on unsecured ports to Microsoft servers every 5 minutes, damn. Linux is was never so much needed.
Ill start recruiting when I start project Polyibus 1029. Just don't betray us and you will be alright 8)

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:25 pm

Nothing ! I said nothing !
Image

Post Reply