Your Computers

Talk about everything but Rayman!

Moderator: English moderators

Joshua822
Murray
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Location: The Woods of Light
Tings: 21010

Re: Your Computers

Post by Joshua822 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:34 pm

I'm already an experienced Gimper :) - but haven't tested Inkscape yet. What I'd LOVE to is try Krita, which hasn't got a Windows port yet.
Really? Oh, goodie, that's great, a big hug for you! :D

I've never tested Krita, but it's nice as far as I've heard in Ubuntu circles. It's the image editor on Ubuntu for people who really can't handle Gimp's interface. And well, because Krita relies on so many UNIX-only other software packages and has a relatively small user base makes it not worth the effort to port it to Windows ( which is really difficult! ) to be honest. Although it's a shame for Windows users, indeed.

And by the way, just out of curiosity, what is broken in your old desktop, or how do you know it's dead? If the thing just doesn't do anything when you press the on button, it's probably just a broken power supply, which is not so hard to fix ( but you should let it be done by a computer shop if you don't know a lot about hardware, since if you do the wiring of the components to the power supply faulty, some components might blow up! ( this is no joke, a friend of mine has blown up his old floppy drive in this manner! ) ).

Julia_Patti
Électoon
Posts: 1142
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:58 am
Location: Russia
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Your Computers

Post by Julia_Patti » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:52 pm

Joshua822 wrote:If the thing just doesn't do anything when you press the on button, it's probably just a broken power supply, which is not so hard to fix ( but you should let it be done by a computer shop if you don't know a lot about hardware, since if you do the wiring of the components to the power supply faulty, some components might blow up!
You guessed right, at the beginning it started up after pressing "on" SEVERAL times, and then it started taking even longer to boot, until the comp simply stopped reacting to "on". I don't know what exactly to blame, the power supply (after all, with two hard drives - 70 and 700 GB - it would go crazy indeed) or something else - some people from the hardware forums complained that they had the same problem because of the cooler.
We'd have it fixed ages ago, but the thing is, we're currently out of $. :( So for now, i have to deal only with the laptop.
Find me also here: Image Image Image Image Image Image

Joshua822
Murray
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Location: The Woods of Light
Tings: 21010

Re: Your Computers

Post by Joshua822 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:59 pm

Oh, like that. But then it's definitely the power supply ( if the motherboard is dead some lights should still be burning and the fans should still go on ). And, well, you should probably wait to buy a new power supply when you have a lot of money again. Decent ( as in reliable and efficient ) power supplies cost a lot of money ( let's say that you can get them for around 3600 ruble, although that assumes European prises, it might cost more or less in Russia. ).

Oh, and it's probably not your hard drives. It doesn't take a lot of power to just power two simple hard drives ( it's probably only around, like, 20W ).

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: Your Computers

Post by Adsolution » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:53 pm

Hey Haruka, what's that windows theme you're using?

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Your Computers

Post by Haruka » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:04 pm

RayFan9876 wrote:Hey Haruka, what's that windows theme you're using?
I use a costumized Windows theme called "Fire", which I love it. It is almost a Windows XP Blue and Green theme but with red colours.

LoveMetal
Reflux
Posts: 14872
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:11 pm
Tings: 117389

Re: Your Computers

Post by LoveMetal » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:57 pm

I encourage Julia to install Ubuntu, but I am disappointed that there are also some Linux users
Image

PluMGMK
Pâquerette
Posts: 30323
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 14348

Re: Your Computers

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:13 pm

LOVΣ_MΞTΛL wrote:I encourage Julia to install Ubuntu, but I am disappointed that there are so few Linux users

Joshua822
Murray
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:43 pm
Location: The Woods of Light
Tings: 21010

Re: Your Computers

Post by Joshua822 » Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:30 pm

@LOVE_METAL: you mean desktop Linux users, right? Since I honestly won't believe that somebody here doesn't use some form of Linux on a daily basis. Honestly, almost anything that isn't a desktop, laptop, iDevice or Windows Phone 7 smartphone and that has a CPU runs Linux these days. :mrgreen:

Phoenixan
Uglette
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:15 am
Contact:
Tings: 26323

Re: Your Computers

Post by Phoenixan » Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:57 am

Julia_Patti wrote:
As far as your needs goes, I think you'll have to install Gimp and Inkscape.
I'm already an experienced Gimper :) - but haven't tested Inkscape yet. What I'd LOVE to is try Krita, which hasn't got a Windows port yet.
I love Inkscape, but my main problem with it is that I can't seem to get it to properly recognize the pressure sensitivity on my tablet. It's really annoying. Looked for help on it, and the issue's already been on their bugs list since maybe 0.46.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Your Computers

Post by Haruka » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:19 pm

Phoenixan wrote: I love Inkscape, but my main problem with it is that I can't seem to get it to properly recognize the pressure sensitivity on my tablet.
I also had that problem when I tried the program.

LoveMetal
Reflux
Posts: 14872
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:11 pm
Tings: 117389

Re: Your Computers

Post by LoveMetal » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm

Joshua822 wrote:@LOVE_METAL: you mean desktop Linux users, right? Since I honestly won't believe that somebody here doesn't use some form of Linux on a daily basis. Honestly, almost anything that isn't a desktop, laptop, iDevice or Windows Phone 7 smartphone and that has a CPU runs Linux these days. :mrgreen:
Not necessarily destkop, but terminal, for exemple.
Image

rayman4ever
Flabard
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:41 pm
Location: Earth... Where else would i be !?
Tings: 150

Re: Your Computers

Post by rayman4ever » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:51 am

I have a customized computer so here it goes the comp is spoiled and will repair In April :oops2:
Nvidia 9400gt 1 gb
Windows 7 ultimate
I have two 2gb chips but it says 4gb upgradable on win7
Intel core duo 2 2.8ghz
And that's it I forgot hard disk space but it is pretty good
here i got a photo of my pc (not the rig but my monitor and stuff)
i reinstalled windows and formatted my hard drive so there's not many icons :oops2:
Image
Last edited by rayman4ever on Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Wii+ds= Wiids
Wii+ps2=wiis2

Danone
Antitoon
Posts: 17089
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:50 am
Tings: 0

Re: Your Computers

Post by Danone » Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:07 pm

YamiRayman wrote:1 Windows 95 :D
this explains your rayman collector minigame vid


I have in my house 3 windows xp desktop, and a 2 laptop, one with windows xp too and another with windows 7

YamiRayman
Bétilla
Posts: 6801
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:29 pm
Location: Detroit Rock City !
Tings: 80250

Re: Your Computers

Post by YamiRayman » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:12 pm

Danonanobadray327 wrote:
YamiRayman wrote:1 Windows 95 :D
this explains your rayman collector minigame vid
Yeah but Rayman Collector fully works on XP too. Anyway you can play only mini-games with XP, if you want the play the Rayman games included in Rayman Collector (Desginer, Rayman by its fan, Rayman 1, 60 level unpublished, if I remember rightly...). You must install this games with 95 or may be 98 but I'm not really sure.

Danone
Antitoon
Posts: 17089
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:50 am
Tings: 0

Re: Your Computers

Post by Danone » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:52 pm

YamiRayman wrote:
Danonanobadray327 wrote:
YamiRayman wrote:1 Windows 95 :D
this explains your rayman collector minigame vid
Yeah but Rayman Collector fully works on XP too. Anyway you can play only mini-games with XP, if you want the play the Rayman games included in Rayman Collector (Desginer, Rayman by its fan, Rayman 1, 60 level unpublished, if I remember rightly...). You must install this games with 95 or may be 98 but I'm not really sure.
I dont have collector :(

but I have a special version of rayman par ses fans (extract from rayman forever) and it works properly in my computer, even in my laptop with win7

Lianna
Carmen
Posts: 3281
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:05 pm
Tings: 38855

Re: Your Computers

Post by Lianna » Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:21 pm

My dad's computer in my granny's is kinda old.

Phoenixan
Uglette
Posts: 1800
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:15 am
Contact:
Tings: 26323

Re: Your Computers

Post by Phoenixan » Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:29 pm

Hey guys, time to bump this thread since I got a new desk and upgraded my desktop.
Image

Rsandee
Oumbr
Posts: 5679
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: Nice try, FBI
Tings: 59460

Re: Your Computers

Post by Rsandee » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:02 am

My laptop (from google)
Image
It's a HP G61 PC Notebook.
I got this back in February 2010, and this thing is awesome. :P

DandyGuy
Ptizêtre Femme
Posts: 6238
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 1772

Re: Your Computers

Post by DandyGuy » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:33 am

i got 4 computers :boon: 2 for modeling and 2 for programing.
Last edited by DandyGuy on Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: Your Computers

Post by Adsolution » Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:39 am

rayman4ever wrote:I have a customized computer so here it goes the comp is spoiled and will repair In April :oops2:
Nvidia 9400gt 1 gb
Windows 7 ultimate
I have two 2gb chips but it says 4gb upgradable on win7
Intel core duo 2 2.8ghz
And that's it I forgot hard disk space but it is pretty good
here i got a photo of my pc (not the rig but my monitor and stuff)
i reinstalled windows and formatted my hard drive so there's not many icons :oops2:
Image
Hey you, where did you get that Windows XP theme?

Post Reply